main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


STRAWBSWEBNEWS - ARCHIVE

STRAWBSWEBNEWS - JANUARY 2008 - PART 1

Sent: 11 January 2008


Hi all - compliments of the year for a happy and enjoyable 2008.

We're starting the year well - Acoustic Strawbs kick off their Jan/Feb UK
tour in Blackpool - looking forward to hearing how it goes as I can't get
to the early date - if you're at Chesham, Kings Heath, Maidenhead, Banbury,
come and say hi.

PLEASE DO SEND IN REVIEWS AND PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE SHOWS - Always great to
hear what you think.

Send them to dgreener@ndirect.co.uk or post them on Witchwood Discussion
Group and I'll pick them up from there.


More news later in the month about some exciting new features on StrawbsWeb.

DICK

====


Contents
--------

* Acoustic Strawbs Jan/Feb 2008
* Ian Cutler/Bully Wee - January 2008 tour
* Blue Angel Orchestra - Half Moon Putney - Sun 17 Feb 2008
* Dave Cousins solo tour March 08
- Tour album
- Further Nova Scotia date added
* New Strawbs album in 2008, electric tour May/June 2008



=============================
ACOUSTIC STRAWBS JAN/FEB 2008
=============================

The Acoustic Strawbs are about to go off on another Jan/Feb acoustic tour -
a few new venues this time round.

Fri 11 Jan 2008 - Kite Club, Blackpool
Sat 12 Jan 2008 - Acoustic Tearoom, Kirkby Stephen
Thu 17 Jan 2008 - The Rondo Theatre, Bath
Fri 18 Jan 2008 - Cox's Yard, Stratford-upon-Avon
Sat 19 Jan 2008 - The David Hall, South Petherton
Thu 24 Jan 2008 - Ovington Social Club, Ovington
Fri 25 Jan 2008 - The Famous Bein Inn, Glenfarg
Sat 26 Jan 2008 - The Famous Bein Inn, Glenfarg
Mon 28 Jan 2008 - Tudor Folk, Chesham
Fri 1 Feb 2008 - Millfield Arts Centre, Edmonton
Sat 2 Feb 2008 - Huntingdon Hall, Worcester
Sun 3 Feb 2008 - The Guildhall Theatre, Derby
Tuesday 5 Feb 2008 - Wyvern Theatre, Swindon
Fri 8 Feb 2008 - The Playhouse, Sleaford
Sat 9 Feb 2008 - Red Lion Folk Club, Kings Heath
-- SOLD OUT -- Tuesday 12 Feb 2008 -The Forge, Basingstoke
Fri 15 Feb 2008 - Norden Farm Centre for the Arts, Maidenhead
Sat 16 Feb 2008 - The Mill Arts Centre, Banbury
Thu 28 Feb 2008 - The Brook Theatre, Chatham

NB. Please note:
1. Basingstoke on 12 Feb is already sold out.
2. The Glenfarg gig is back on at the Bein Inn. Whilst the Inn was being
refurbished it was thought that the gig would have to be held at the
Glenfarg Hotel, but it is definitely back at the Bein Inn. Apologies for
any inconvenience, particularly for those booking accommodation.



========================================
IAN CUTLER/BULLY WEE - JANUARY 2008 TOUR
========================================

One of Ian's "other bands" - the fabulous 70s folk band Bully Wee are
staging a short tour in late January. Highly recommended - I'm hoping to
get to the Hitchin show.

15th Jan 08
Ringwood Folk Club - Elm Tree Inn, Hightown, Ringwood, Hampshire
Tel. 01425673713

17th Jan 08
The Brook Theatre, Chatham Old Town Hall
Tel. 01634338338

18th Jan 08
Cambridge Folk Club - The Golden Hind, 355 Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 1SP
Tel: 01223 420816

20th Jan 08
Hitchin Folk Club - The Sun Hotel, Sun Street, Hitchin, Herts, SG5 1AF,
Tel. 01462812391

21st Jan 08
Nettlebed Folk Club - The Village Club, High Street, Nettlebed, Nr.
Henley, Oxon

22nd Jan 08
Dartford Folk Club - Dartford Working Men's Club, Essex Road. Dartford,
Kent DA1 2AU

23rd Jan 08
The Willows Folk Club - Arundel Football Club, Mill Road, Arundel, W. Sussex
chris@willowsfolkclub.org



==========================================================
BLUE ANGEL ORCHESTRA - HALF MOON PUTNEY - SUN 17 FEB 2008
==========================================================

Always a great show, Dave Cousins & the BAO play a gig at the legendary
Half Moon Putney on Sunday 17 Feb. I think those of us lucky enough to
have enjoyed seeing the BAO play at the Clarendon pub in deal just before
Christmas will agree that Putney shuold be a great venue for them - they
can be as loud and as lively as they want!

Gig is at 8.00pm - ticket price 6.00
The support band is called State of Undress - let's have no untoward
comments, please ...;-)

Directions on:
http://www.halfmoon.co.uk/information/directions.htm

NB - as a Sunday, parking is free (though not particularly easy to find)
near the venue.



================================
DAVE COUSINS SOLO TOUR MARCH 08
- TOUR ALBUM
- FURTHER NOVA SCOTIA DATE ADDED
================================

Dave Cousins went into the studio in Deal on 2 January and recorded some of
the songs he's going to be singing on the solo tour. The recordings will
be available on the tour and through other outlets for those outside of the
US. Further details when available.

A further Nova Scotia date has been added to DC's tour - full list of dates
set out below.

I'm hoping to come over for the first few dates of the tour - hope to catch
up with friends when I do and meet some new faces.

Wednesday 5 March 2008
The Strand, Lakewood, NJ

Thursday 6 March 2008
The Cutting Room, New York, NY

Friday 7 March 2008
The Tin Angel, Philadelphia, PA

Saturday 8 March 2008
Towne Crier, Pawling, NY

Sunday 9 March 2008
NJ Proghouse, Metuchen, NJ

Monday 10 March 2008
Kroghs, Sparta, NJ

Tuesday 11 March 2008
The Turning Point, Piermont, NY

Wednesday 12 March 2008
Bopshop at The German House, Rochester, NY

Thursday 13 March 2008
Hugh's Room, Toronto ON

Friday 14 March 2008
The Winchester, Cleveland, OH

Saturday 15 March 2008
The Kent Stage, Kent, OH

Sunday 16 March 2008
The Abbey, Chicago, IL

Tuesday 18 March 2008
Shank Hall, Milwaukee, WI

Friday 21 March 2008
Mersey House, Liverpool, NS

Saturday 22 March 2008
Fire Hall, Mount Uniacke, NS


More details and maps on Strawbsweb.



======================================================
NEW STRAWBS ALBUM IN 2008, ELECTRIC TOUR MAY/JUNE 2008
======================================================

Recording time is booked for a new Strawbs album in April, with an electric
tour to follow, kicking off the Strawbs' 40th anniversary celebrations.
Dates confirmed are:


Fri 23 May - Renfrew Ferry, Glasgow
Sat 24 May - Platform, Morecambe
Tue 27 May - The Stables, Wavendon
Wed 28 May - Yside, Builth Wells
Thu 29 May - Robin 2, Bilston
Sat 31 May - Maddermarket, Norwich
Sun 1 June - Memorial Hall, Freshwater IOW
Wed 4 June - Half Moon, Putney
Thu 5 June - The Brook, Southampton
Sat 7 June - The Pavilion, Hailsham



[ENDS]

DICK GREENER
London, UK
e-mail: dgreener@ndirect.co.uk
STRAWBSWEB - www.strawbsweb.co.uk
"You'll scarcely believe all the pleasures inside"