main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


STRAWBSWEBNEWS - ARCHIVE

STRAWBSWEBNEWS - MAY 2012 - PART 2

Sent by Dick Greener, 30 May 2012


Hi folks

Been a bit busy of late, so plenty to tell you.

The pre-ordering for Of A Time is now live and there's some news of gigs later in the year in US, Canada and the UK.

More news in early June ...

DICK
----

Contents
--------

* Of A Time - pre-ordering now open till 13 June
* Crystal Palace Garden Party cancelled
* US Acoustic gigs
* Sandwich Folk Festival - not appearing
* Other Acoustic dates, July-August
* Dave Cousins and Ian Cutler gig
* US Acoustic gigs
* Canadian Acoustic gigs
* UK electric gigs




==============================================
OF A TIME - PRE-ORDERING NOW OPEN TILL 13 JUNE
==============================================

Apologies for the delay in getting this going. You can now pre-order the new release "Of A Time" on the Witchwood Records online shop, price 12 plus P&P.

http://www.shop.firstandbest.co.uk/wwr/

If you order before 5pm UK time on 13 JUNE, you will get your name in the CD booklet.


=====================================
CRYSTAL PALACE GARDEN PARTY CANCELLED
=====================================


Unfortunately the Crystal Palace Garden Party gig on 23 June has had to be cancelled, owing to serious structural problems with the stage.

Under other circumstances postponement to a new date would be an obvious option but due to the Olympics, no Police support can be used until after the Paralympics and after then, the park already has other events in the diary up to the end of September after which it is unfeasible to have an outdoor concert.



================
UK ACOUSTIC GIGS
================

Sandwich Festival
-----------------

Acoustic Strawbs will not now be appearing at the Sandwich Folk and Ale Festival on 14 July.

Other Acoustic dates, July-August
---------------------------------
Friday 13 July, Wingfield Barns Wingfield
Saturday 14 July, Half Moon Putney
Saturday 21 July, Embassy Theatre Skegness
Friday 17 August, Clumber Park Festival, Worksop,
Friday 24 August, Rhythm Festival, Luton

Dave Cousins and Ian Cutler gig
-------------------------------
Friday 20 July St Edith Hall Kemsing



================
US ACOUSTIC GIGS
================

A return to the US of A for the Acoustic in September, the following gigs can be released, more likely to follow:

Wednesday 5 September, Jammin' Java Vienna VA
Thursday 6 September, Sellersville Theater Sellersville PA
Tuesday 11 September, BB Kings Blues Club New York NY
Wednesday 12 September, Tupelo Music Hall Londonderry NH
Friday 14 September, Tralf Music Hall Buffalo NY
Saturday 15 September, The Lovin' Cup Rochester NY
Tuesday 18 September, City Winery Chicago IL

The support for nearly all the gigs will be John Wesley Harding.


======================
CANADIAN ACOUSTIC GIGS
======================

The Acoustic Strawbs will be touring in Canada - the following dates have been released.

Saturday 13 October, Gesu Theatre Montreal QC
Sunday 14 October, Capitol Theatre Port Hope ON
Tuesday 16 October, Hugh's Room Toronto ON
Wednesday 17 October, Hugh's Room Toronto ON
Thursday 18 October, Peter's Place Gravenhurst ON
Friday 19 October, Aeolian Hall London ON
Saturday 20 October, The Place Studio Hamilton ON
Sunday 21 October, Festival Place Edmonton AB
Thursday 25 October, Nancy Appleby Theatre Athabasca AB
Saturday 27 October, Crescent Heights CH Calgary AB


================
UK ELECTRIC GIGS
================

Happy to announce that the electric band will once again be touring the UK late in the year. Can't confirm details yet, but these dates are in the calendar.


Thursday 8 November, Beaverwood Chislehurst
Friday 9 November, Boom Boom Club Sutton
Saturday 10 November, TBA
Sunday 11 November, The Garage Swansea
Tuesday 13 November, Green Hotel Kinross
Wednesday 14 November, Brudenell Social Club Leeds
Thursday 15 November, The Citadel St Helens
Friday 16 November, The Fleece Bristol
Saturday 17 November, Leatherhead Theatre Leatherhead
Sunday 18 November, Robin 2 Bilston
Thursday 22 November, Borderline London
Friday 23 November, Astor Theatre Deal
[corrected] Saturday 24 November, Soundhouse Otford
[corrected] Sunday 25 November, St Andrews Hall Norwich

[ends]


DICK GREENER
STRAWBSWEB- www.strawbsweb.co.uk
"You'll scarcely believe all the pleasures inside..."


Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.