main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


STRAWBSWEBNEWS - ARCHIVE

STRAWBSWEBNEWS DECEMBER 2015

Sent by Dick Greener, 9 Dec 2015


Hi all

After the long quiet period resulting from Dave Cousins' health
issues (he's getting better!), there's a bumper bundle of news items
this month including some Electric shows in the UK and, at last, the US.

Wishing you all the best for Christmas and New Year/the holiday season.

Best wishes

DICK
----

CONTENTS
--------
* December gigs
* Acoustic dates Jan-Mar 2016
* Electric dates 2016
* Moody Blues Cruise
* UK dates
* US dates
* Cathryn Craig & Brian Willoughby news
* John Ford news
* Hud's gigs

=============
DECEMBER GIGS
=============

Acoustic Strawbs WILL be playing the two gigs supporting Family in
Glasgow and London.

PLEASE NOTE that, owing to structural problems at the Empire in
Shepherd's Bush, the London venue has been switched to The Forum in
Kentish Town and moved from Sun 13 Dec to Mon 14th Dec.

http://www.nme.com/news/various-artists/90212
for more details.

If that means you will not be able to attend, contact the vendor who
sold you your ticket (not me! {grin})to arrange a refund (or your
credit card company may be able to help if you used that card to buy tickets).

Thu 10 Dec - ABC, Glasgow (with Family)
Mon 14 Dec - The Forum, Kentish Town, London (with Family)

Hope to be at the Forum show - come and say hello if you spot me.

===========================
ACOUSTIC DATES JAN-MAR 2016
===========================

After a lengthy lay-off period, Acoustic Strawbs are back on the road
in the New Year. Here's a list of the confirmed dates - a few more:
Isle of Wight, Sunbury, Stockton and Newbury are still to be confirmed.

Wed 3 Feb - Red Lion, Kings Heath
Fri 5 Feb - Junction, Goole
Thu 11 Feb - The Hawth, Crawley
Fri 12 Feb - Astor Theatre, Deal
Sat 13 Feb - The Pier, Worthing
Fri 19 Feb - Pontadawe Arts Centre, Portadawe

Sat 12 Mar - The Old Chapel, Alfriston
Sun 13 Mar - Half Moon, Putney
Sat 26 Mar - Frazer Theatre, Knaresborough

And advance warning of a summer Folk Festival gig:

Sun 19 Jun - Folk Festival, Beverley

===================
ELECTRIC DATES 2016
===================

Moody Blues Cruise
------------------
Electric Strawbs are once again treading the boards on the Moody
Blues Cruise, which runs from Fri 26 Feb to Tue 1 Mar.

No details as yet of line-up.

UK dates
--------
The aborted electric dates from last year have been rescheduled.

Fri 22 Apr - Flowerpot, Derby
Sat 23 Apr - Boom Boom Club, Sutton
Sun`24 Apr - Anchor Arts, Wingham
Wed 27 Apr - Robin 2, Bilston
Thu 28 Apr - The Stables, Milton Keynes
Fri 29 Apr - Tivoli Theatre, Wimborne

No details as yet of line-up.

US dates
--------

And finally, a welcome return to the US for the electric band: a
decent series of dates, with a few more in Syracuse NY, Valparaiso
IN, Cleveland OH, Cincinatti OH, Rochester NY, Beverley MA yet to be confirmed.

Thu 5 May - Towne Crier, Beacon NY
Fri 6 May - ROSfest Majestic Th., Gettysburg PA
Sat 7 May - Sellersville Theater, Sellersville PA
Tue 10 May - BB King's, NYC NY
Wed 11 May - Strand Centre for Arts, Lakewood NJ
Thu 12 May - Mohegan Sun/Wolf Dn, Uncasville CT
Fri 13 May - YMCA Boulton Centre, Bay Shore NY
Sat 14 May - St Ann's Hall, Wilmington DE
Sun 15 May - Ukranian Cultural C., Whippany NJ
Tue 17 May - Rams Head, Anapolis ML
Wed 18 May - AMP by Strathmore, N. Bethesda ML
Fri 20 May - Arcade Theater, St Charles IL
Sun 22 May - Turner Hall, Milwaukee MN

No details as yet of line-up.

=====================================
CATHRYN CRAIG & BRIAN WILLOUGHBY NEWS
=====================================

Cathryn & Brian have a shiny new website at:

http://www.craigandwilloughby.com/

which includes details of the new album they have just recorded "In
America". Review to follow.

The album was recorded at TJ Tunes in Nashville, Tennessee by
engineer/producer/guitarist/bass and mandola player Thomm
Jutz. Musicians include:

Jeff Taylor (Vince Gill / Time Jumpers) on whistles and accordion
Drummers Fran Breen (Waterboys, Saw Doctors, Mary Black, Paul Brady)
Dennis Bryon (Amen Corner / BeeGees) and Pat McInerney (Nanci
Griffith, Tom Paxton, Doc Watson, Don Williams)
Guitarists Brent Moyer (Lynn Anderson) and Andy Reiss (Reba McEntire
/ Time Jumpers)
Cellist Ron de la Vega (Nanci Griffith)
and on banjo, "A Team" session player Richard Bailey of the
Grammy-winning Steeldrivers.

Mastered at Stuart Carter's Powerhouse Studios in New Haw, Surrey, UK
with engineer Rob Stanbury.

Track listing
-------------
Curragh
In America
A Soft Place To Fall
Malahide Moon
Eyes Open Wide
Walking Each Other Home
The Fire
These Old Stone Walls
Bullet
Whatever Is For You
The Middle
One More Song
You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'
Those Were The Days
Alice's Song
I Will

You can buy the album from their website, using Paypal:

http://www.craigandwilloughby.com/albums.htm

and listen to samples of the songs at:

http://www.craigandwilloughby.com/albums/in-america.htm

==============
JOHN FORD NEWS
==============

A reminder that John's excellent new album "A Better Day" is
available on CDBaby:

http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/johnford15

And early warning of a live show:

Fri 8 Apr 2016 Port Washington Public Library, Port Washington NY

==========
HUD'S GIGS
==========

DECEMBER 2015

11th Three Horseshoes, Shepperton TW17 9BL (THE ALI MAC BAND)
20th The Horns, Watford, WD17 3RL (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
24th Feltham Constitutional Club, Ashfield House, 30 Hanworth Rd,
TW13 5AB (THE BEAKY BAND)
31st The Red Lion, Isleworth TW7 6QJ (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)

2016
JANUARY
10th The Horns, Watford WD17 3RL (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
16th Holmer Green (THE REPERTOIRE DOGS)
23rd Prince Albert, Hampton Road, Twickenham TW2 5QB (020 8894 3963)
(THE BEAKY BAND)

FEBRUARY
18th Riverside club, Staines (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
27th The Black Horse, Greenford UB6 OAS (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)

MARCH
4th Hayes Working Mens' Club, Hayes UB3 3N (THE BEAKY BAND)
26th The Rose and Crown, Wrotham TN15 7AE (THE ALI MAC BAND)

===============
AND FINALLY ...
===============

On Strawbsweb, a new feature showcasing Straws-related coffee
mugs! If you have any other examples, please let me know.

http://www.strawbsweb.co.uk/memor/mugs.asp

[ends]
DICK GREENER
STRAWBSWEB- www.strawbsweb.co.uk
"You'll scarcely believe all the pleasures inside..."


Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.