main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


STRAWBSWEBNEWS STOP PRESS - FEBRUARY 2016

Sent by Dick Greener, 9 Feb 2016


Hi all

Main news is of course that upcoming Strawbs dates can now go ahead, as DC is cleared to go back to work! Great news indeed!

Cheers

DICK


Contents
--------
* Cousins back on the road
* Brian Willoughby & Cathryn Craig gigs
* Hud gigs
* Bully Wee - new 2016 album


========================
COUSINS BACK ON THE ROAD
========================

Great news - Dave has now been cleared to get back on the road for both the imminent acoustic shows and the forthcoming electric show on the Moodies Cruise, the US and the UK later in the year.

Really good to hear. I saw Dave a week or so back and he was fit and well and looking forward to the gigs.

The first few Acoustic gigs
---------------------------

Thu 11 Feb 2016 - The Hawth, Crawley
Fri 12 Feb 2016 - Astor Community Theatre, Deal
Sat 13 Feb 2016 - Worthing Piers Southern Pavilion, Worthing
Fri 19 Feb - Pontardawe Arts Centre

The Moodies cruise
------------------

Fri 26 Feb - Tue 1 Mar

More UK acoustic gigs
---------------------

Sat 12 Mar - The Old Chapel, Alfriston
Sun 13 Mar - Half Moon, Putney
Sat 26 Mar - Frazer Theatre, Knaresborough
Fri 15 Apr - Square & Compass, Ilminster
Sat 16 Apr - Guildhall, St Ives
Sun 17 Apr - Matthews Hall, Topsham

Fri 17 Jun - Cricket Club, Sunbury
Sun 19 Jun - Folk Festival, Beverley

UK Electric tour
----------------

Fri 22 Apr - Flowerpot, Derby
Sat 23 Apr - Neil's Jazz and B, West Kensington
Sun 24 Apr - Anchor Arts , Wingham
Tue 26 Apr - TBC
Wed 27 Apr - Robin 2, Bilston + Accom
Thu 28 Apr - The Stables , Milton Keynes
Fri 29 Apr - Tivoli Theatre , Wimborne

US Electric tour
----------------

NOT TAKING PLACE - Wed 4 May - Palace Theater, Syracuse NY
Thu 5 May - Towne Crier, Beacon NY
Fri 6 May - ROSfest Majestic Theater, Gettysburg PA
Sat 7 May - Sellersville Theater Sellersville PA (possible afternoon show added - TBC)
Tue 10 May - BB King's, NYC NY
Wed 11 May - Strand Centre for Arts, Lakewood NJ
Thu 12 May - Mohegan Sun/Wolf Dn, Uncasville CT
Fri 13 May - YMCA Boulton Centre, Bay Shore NY
Sat 14 May - St Ann's Hall, Wilmington DE
Sun 15 May - Ukranian Cultural Center, Whippany NJ
Tue 17 May - Rams Head, Annapolis MD
Wed 18 May - AMP by Strathmore, N. Bethesda MD
Fri 20 May - Arcade Theater, St Charles IL
NOT TAKING PLACE - Sat 21 May - TBC, Valparaiso IN
Sun 22 May - Turner Hall, Milwaukee MN
NOT TAKING PLACE - Mon 23 May - TBA, Cincinatti OH
Tue 24 May - Music Box Supper Club, Cleveland OH
Wed 25 May - Lovin Cup, Rochester NY


=====================================
BRIAN WILLOUGHBY & CATHRYN CRAIG GIGS
=====================================

Advance warning of Brian & Cathryn gigs - more will no doubt be added at:

http://www.craigandwilloughby.com/gigs.htm

4 Mar - Lymm Folk Club
11 Apr - Heart of Hawick Auditorium
14 Apr - Beamish Mary Folk & Acoustic
18 Apr - Stirling Folk Club
19 Apr - Cutty Wren Folk Club, Redcar
20 Apr - Otley Folk Club
22 Apr - The Hinckley Act
27 Apr - Culm Valey Club, Cullompton, Devon
28 Apr - St Pancras Old Church

6 May - Acoustic Yard Festival, Westport Co. Mayo
15/16 Jul - The Neely G Festival of Music, Long Creek, New Brunswick, Canada
12 Aug - Saltburn Folk Festival

20 Sep - The English Folk Music Club, Villacosta , Villamartin, Spain

25 Oct - Cramlington Folk Club
27 Oct - Black Swan Folk Club, York
3 Nov - Darlington Folk Club
14 Nov - Boston Folk Club
17 Nov - Commonfolk Folk Club, Pelsall, Walsall
29 Nov - Dartford Folk Club
2 Dec - The Ram Club, Thames Ditton, Surrey
4 Dec - Folk On The Moor, Plymouth




========
HUD GIGS
========

FEBRUARY
14th, Three Horseshoes, 131 High St, Shepperton TW17 9BL (BEAKY BAND)
18th, Riverside club, 6 Laleham Rd, Staines TW18 2DX (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
26th, Black Horse, Greenford UB6 OAS (BEAKY BAND)
27th, Black Horse, Greenford UB6 OAS (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)

MARCH
4th, Hayes Working Men's Club, Pump Lane, Hayes UB3 3N (BEAKY BAND)
5th, The Bull, Basingstoke Rd, Risley, Reading, W BERKS RG7 1OL (ALI MAC BAND)
12th, General Eliott, St Johns Road, Uxbridge UB8 2UR (BEAKY BAND)
18th, Nettlebed Folk Club, High St, Nettlebed, Henley on Thames RG9 5DD (REPERTOIRE DOGS)
25th, The Dolphin, 1 Rockingham Road Uxbridge UB8 2UB (BEAKY BAND)
26th, Rose and Crown. Wrotham TN15 7AE (ALI MAC BAND)

APRIL
2nd, Tilehurst British Legion, Downing Road, Tilehurst RG 31 5BB (BEAKY BAND)
3rd, Three Horseshoes, 131 High St, Shepperton TW17 9BL (ALI MAC BAND)
9th, Dashwood Arms, Old Oxford Rd Piddington HP14 3BH (BEAKY BAND)
23rd, TBA (BEAKY BAND)
30th, Wheatsheaf, Albert Street, Slough Sl1 2BE (BEAKY BAND)

MAY
2nd, The Horns, Watford WD17 3RL 4pm start (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
7th, Red Lion Isleworth, 92 94 Linkfield Road TW7 6QJ (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
13th, HWM club, Pump Lane, Hayes UB3 3N (THE GOOD OLD BOYS)
14th, Prince Albert, Hampton Road, Twickenham TW2 5QB 020 8894 3963 (BEAKY BAND)
20th, Black Horse, Greenford UB6 OAS (BEAKY BAND)
21st, Red Lion Isleworth, 92 94 Linkfield Road TW7 6QJ (BEAKY BAND)
27th, Halfway House, 91 Uxbridge Road, Rickmansworth, WD3 7DQ (BEAKY BAND)


==========================
BULLY WEE - NEW 2016 ALBUM
==========================

Apologies, I missed the opportunity to let folks know about the usual Jan Bully Wee tour this year, featuring ace fiddler and Blue Angel Orchestra member, Ian Cutler. However, they have recorded a new album, Like The Snow, which is available from the Bully Wee Band shop page:

http://www.bullyweeband.com/the%20shop%20page.htm

[ends]





DICK GREENER
STRAWBSWEB- www.strawbsweb.co.uk
"You'll scarcely believe all the pleasures inside..."


Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.