main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


STRAWBSWEBNEWS OCTOBER 2017

Sent by Dick Greener, 5 Oct


Hi all

Obviously the main thing is good news about Dave's health and the tour going ahead! Hope to see you on tour, come and say hello.

Cheers

DICK


Contents
--------
* Update on DC
* Ferryman CDs
* UK Electric tour - complete dates
* US Electric tour - complete dates
* Acoustic gigs, December
* Melody Makers - the film



============
UPDATE ON DC
============

Sorry for the delay in updating you on Dave Cousins. Glad to say that he has recovered well and is ready to start the UK tour this evening (5 Oct).

Other news is that I'm expecting several numbers from the new album to be in the live set - no spoilers but I think you'll be impressed.

Looking forward to heasring your reactions to the tour and the album - please send any reviews and pictures to dick.greener@gmail.com


============
FERRYMAN CDS
============

Unfortunately there has been a slight delay in getting these from the manufacturers.

The band may have a small number to sell on tour, but we won't receive the bulk of the order until next week - of course the timing is awkward as Strawbs are on tour, so I can't confirm yet when the pre-orders will be bagged up, labelled and posted out.

Apologies for the delay to those who pre-ordered. I'll be arranging with Dave to go down to Kent and help get these out as soon as possible. Please bear with us ...


=================================
UK ELECTRIC TOUR - COMPLETE DATES
=================================

Thu 5 Oct, The Stables, Wavendon
Fri 6 Oct, Village Hall, Lowdham
Sat 7 Oct, Globe, Cardiff
Thu 12 Oct, Tivoli, Wimbourne
Fri 13 Oct, Dorking Halls, Dorking
Sat 14 Oct, Arlington Arts Centre, Newbury
Sun 15 Oct, Centre Spot, Dover (fundraising benefit)
Mon 16 Oct, The Apex, Bury St Edmunds
Thu 19 Oct, Arts Centre, Solihull
Fri 20 Oct, Vivacity, Peterborough
NEW - Sat 21 Oct, Music Centre, Barnoldswick
NEW - Tue 24 Oct, Truck Theatre, Hull
Wed 25 Oct, Green Hotel, Kinross
UPDATED - Thu 26 Oct, The Buccleuch Centre, Langholm
Fri 27 Oct, Tollbooth, Stirling
UPDATED - Sat 28 Oct, King George's Hall, Blackburn
NEW - Sun 29 Oct, Under The Bridge, Chelsea
(album launch for The Ferryman's Curse)

Check out the tour page for more details.
www.strawbsweb.co.uk/live/1710/1710mp.asp


=================================
US ELECTRIC TOUR - COMPLETE DATES
=================================

Fri 10 Nov, Sellersville Theatre, Sellersville PA (two shows)
Sun 12 Nov, BB Kings, New York NY
Tue 14 Nov, Music Box, Cleveland OH
Wed 15 Nov, Loving Cup, Rochester, NY
NEW - Fri 17 Nov, Centre for the Arts, Homer NY
NEW - Sun 19 Nov, TBA
NEW - Mon 20 Nov, Jammin Java, Vienna VA
NEW - Tue 21 Nov, Tin Pan, Richmond, VA
Fri 24 Nov, The Strand, Lakewood NJ
Sun 26 Nov, Towne Crier, Beacon NY

Check out the tour page for more details.
www.strawbsweb.co.uk/live/1711/1711mp.asp

=======================
ACOUSTIC GIGS, DECEMBER
=======================

Fri 1 Dec, The Whitty Theatre, Wokingham
Tue 5 Dec, City Hall, Newcastle (with Steeleye Span)
Sun 17 Dec, Arts Centre, Warwick (with Steeleye Span)

Details to follow.


========================
MELODY MAKERS - THE FILM
========================

I was lucky enough to get a ticket to a preview of a new film by Lesley Ann Coles about the vintage British rock newspaper Melody Maker:

MELODYMAKERS - THE BIBLE OF ROCK 'N ROLL

There were two showings as part of the Raindance Film Festival at the Vue Cinema in Leicester Square, and it was great to see a number of the paper's staff who were featured in the film also in the audience - Barrie Wentzel, Chris Charlesworth, Chris Welch (who was a particular Strawbs supporter) and others.

The film has won several awards already and is an excellent dive back in time to the heady days of the 60s and 70s when the paper had its heyday. Lots of images and comment from staff photographer Wentzel, interviews with the journalists and a number of other famous faces - including (our very own) Dave Cousins, Sonja Kristina, Fairport's Judy Dyble, Ian Anderson and others.

And the final touch for a Strawbs fan, after a brief excerpt from "All The Little Ladies" during the film, the playout credits closed with the whole of "Oh How She Changed"!

Highly recommended. Not certain yet how you can get to see it if you are interested, but I'm trying to find out and will update you when I have news.

The website for the film is:

www.melodymakersmovie.com

[ends]

DICK GREENER
STRAWBSWEB- www.strawbsweb.co.uk
"You'll scarcely believe all the pleasures inside..."


Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.