main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


At the beginning of 2008, Dave went into the studio with steel guitar player Melvin Duffy to record a CD to be sold on his 2008 US tour.

Secret Paths focuses on the songs that Dave was singing on the solo/duo shows in the US and Canada in March 2008. Songs include "Ringing Down The Years", written by Dave on the news of former band member Sandy Denny's tragic death; "Canada" has the endorsement of Gordon Lightfoot; "I'll Show You Where To Sleep" using a tuning shown to Dave by Joni Mitchell; while the new "Plainsong' is as atmospheric as any songs he has ever written. The secret weapon of Secret Paths is steel guitarist Melvin Duffy - Melvin has spent three years on the road with Robbie Williams and has recorded with Joe Cocker and Zucchero among many others.

The album was produced by Chris Tsangarides (producer of Boy In The Sailor Suit and also the forthcoming new Strawbs album) whose studio is littered with gold discs for albums by Yngwie Malmsteen, Judas Priest, and Thin Lizzy, and who stars in the new film Anvil The Movie.

Reviews page - Dick Greener preview.

musicians track listing versions lyrics reviews


Dave Cousins - vocals, acoustic guitar, banjo, dulcimer
Melvin Duffy - steel guitar

Track listing

  1. Song Of A Sad Little Girl (Cousins)
  2. Plainsong (Cousins)
  3. The Shepherd's Song (Cousins)
  4. I Turned My Face Into The Wind (Cousins)
  5. Ringing Down The Years (Cousins)
  6. Josephine (For Better Or For Worse) (Cousins)
  7. Canada (Cousins)
  8. How I Need You Now (Cousins)
  9. I'll Show You Where To Sleep (Cousins)
  10. Beat The Retreat (Cousins)
  11. Falling In Love Again(Hollander/Lerner)


CD (UK): WMCD 2042 (Witchwood Media, March 2008).

Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.