main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc

LAY DOWN WITH THE STRAWBS (Secret Records, July 2008

At last the 2006 show! This double CD was recorded live at The Robin in Bilston on the 5th March 2006 and captures the power and the glory of the electric Hero And Heroine/Ghostsline-up at a stellar show, with special guest John Ford who joined them for an acoustic show within a show and for the anthemic encore "Part Of The Union".

Captured on film as well audio (also released on DVD), one of the best performances of one of the best bands of their day, and time has done nothing to diminish their powers. It features all their hit singles and many classic album tracks spanning their 40 year career.

Track running order is slightly different to the DVD version. The running order here is not as played live - the four acoustic tracks were played between the two "halves" of Electric Strawbs, after "The Life Auction", before "Out In The Cold".

musicians track listing versions reviews


David Cousins: vocals, guitar, banjo
Dave Lambert: lead guitar, vocals
John Hawken: keyboards
Chas Cronk: bass, vocals
Rod Coombes: drums
Special Guest: John Ford: vocals, guitar

Track listing

Disc 1

  1. Lay Down
  2. I Only Want My Love To Grow In You
  3. Shine On Silver Sun
  4. Ghosts
  5. Remembering/You And I When We Were Young
  6. Cold Steel
  7. Impressions Of Southall From The Train/The Life Auction
  8. Out In The Cold/Round And Round
  9. Just Love

Disc 2

  1. Autumn
  2. Raqs Aswad drum solo
  3. Hero And Heroine
  4. Round And Round reprise
  5. Part Of The Union
  6. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus acoustic/bonus track
  7. Tears And Pavan acoustic/bonus track
  8. Kissed By The Sun acoustic/bonus track
  9. Heavy Disguise acoustic/bonus track


CD (UK): July 2008.

See also DVD version, which features a bonus interview feature.

Secret Paths cover
choose another album
next album Broken Hearted Bride cover

Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.