main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc



Yet another compilation, due for release 9 Sept 2002, this time in Universal's widely-respected Introduction to ... series. ( were offering this at 7.99 for pre-order on 29 Aug 02).

A fairly intelligent selection of tracks, trying to cover each of the A&M albums and no more - the crossover tracks with Collection are asterisked. Cousins tracks only, mark you (apart from Hudson/Ford's contribution to the title track, which incidentally are wrongly credited to "Round And Round", the track following). Missing out "Part Of The Union", which might be seen as a bit odd for this sort of compilation. It'll be a nice start though with "New World", for me the archetypal "defining" Strawbs track, and it features a number of the epic longer Strawbs numbers - "Where Is This Dream" (the Wakeman rock version) and "Ghosts" - which perhaps give a better flavour than the shorter songs of Strawbs' classic period. Nice also to see "So Shall Our Love Die", till now one of the tracks from Nomadness which hasn't made it onto CD - only three to go chaps and then we'll have the set, one way or another ......

Great photos, a lot of stuff not seen before. But, did we need another sampler, coinciding exactly with the release date of Wakeman & Cousins: Hummingbird ? Probably not ....

musicians track listing versions sleevenotes lyrics

Track listing

  1. New World (Cousins)
  2. I Turned My Face Into The Wind (Cousins)*
  3. Oh, How She Changed (Cousins)*
  4. Witchwood (Cousins)*
  5. Where Is This Dream Of Our Youth? (Cousins)
  6. Grace Darling (Cousins)*
  7. Queen Of Dreams (Cousins)
  8. Tears And Pavan(Cousins/Hudson/Ford)
  9. Round And Round (Cousins)
  10. So Shall Our Love Die? (Cousins)
  11. Lay Down (single version) (Cousins)
  12. Down By The Sea (Cousins)
  13. Ghosts (Cousins)
  14. Hero And Heroine (Cousins)

Versions Tears Tears

Not released on vinyl.

CD: 4933692 (Universal, Sept 2002). Excellent packaging, front cover with the "Shine On Silver Sun" photo in moody black and white. Elsewhere, a Burstingperiod shot of the band relaxing on a couch, the "Beat Instrumental" cover shot of mixing From The Witchwood, one of the "get back to the country shots" of the Hero band from the inside of the 1974 tour programme, the glam shot from "Diana" grls' teen mag, and best of all, a shot (very grainy, so probably from a newspaper clipping) of Wakeman playing with the band, Dave resplendent in his crochured coat of many colours. The back cover, another H&H photo. Under the clear tray, a version of the GNW logo - the StrawbS lettering picked out as a yellow outline, and the strawberries filled in with green and red - very tasteful.

CD: 4933692 (Universal, Sept 2002, promo). Promotional copies were sent out in a plain white foldover sleeve. Click on pix to right for larger version.

Sleeve Notes

Excellent sleeve notes by Mark Powell, best and most accurate I've seen.

Project co-ordination by Joe Black.
Compiled by Mark Powell.
Sleeve notes by Mark Powell.
Digitally remastered by Paschal Byrne and Mark Powell at Audio Archiving Company Ltd.
Tape research by David Lascelles at Universal Tape Facility, London.

Sleeve @ M4 Design.
Thanks to Caroline Fisher, Jason Smith, Liam Relph, Mike Story.
Link to

Wakeman band pic glam rock pic Hero And Heroine band pic
BATS band pic

Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.