main page tour dates live reviews and photos news downloads buy albums 45s video books lyrics gallery features history and timeline memorabilia related bands and artists sessions/covers links help using Strawbsweb search site tell a friend book Strawbs get Strawbswebnews join Witchwood change your e-mail Facebook etc


Classic Strawbs  cover

Thought for many years to be a Canada only 2LP release, this selection, which originated in Canada, picked up mainly on the longer, epic tracks which the Canadian market loved - a different and interesting collection. The UK and US markets had their own double LP retro a year later, The Best Of The Strawbs. Such was A&M Canada's love for the Strawbs, they too had a version of that.

Recently a South African copy of this album has come to light.

musicians track listing versions sleevenotes lyrics


As per original albums.

Track listing

  1. Autumn: Heroine's Theme; Deep Summer's Sleep; (Hold On To Me) The Winter Long (Hawken)/(Cousins)/(Cousins)
  2. Benedictus (Cousins)
  3. Tears And Pavan (Cousins)/(Hudson/Ford/Cousins)
  4. The River (Cousins)

  5. Hero And Heroine (Cousins)
  6. Down By The Sea (Cousins)
  7. New World (Cousins)
  8. Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth (Antiques and Curios Version) (Cousins)

  9. Ghosts (Cousins)
  10. Round And Round (Cousins)
  11. Hanging in the Gallery (Cousins)
  12. Queen Of Dreams (Cousins)

  13. The Vision of the Lady Of The Lake (Cousins)
  14. Sheep (Cousins)
  15. The Life Auction: Impressions Of Southall From The Train; The Auction (Cousins/Hawken)/(Cousins/Lambert)

Sleeve Notes

The inner spread has some great photos. Click on them for bigger versions.

First row:

1. Cousins Hooper & Chesterman in afghans at Osterley Park
2. The "picnic shot", used for the "Forever" single ad and in the Japanese
From The Witchwood release
3. An early shot of the Grave New World band, used in the Choice Selection CD

Second row:

1. A promo pic taken at union town Sudbury in the US to promote "Part Of The Union"
2. The white tuxedo shot used on the back of Hero And Heroine
3, An otherwise unknown shot of the "augmented" line up (both Mealing and Kirby were paid sessions players rather than full band members) which recorded Deep Cuts and Burning For You - from left to right: John Mealing, Chas Cronk, Dave Lambert, Robert Kirby, Rod Coombes, Dave Cousins.

Please enable Javascript to view Strawbsweb

. Click on my name to e-mail me.